The South African Mint has quietly released the much anticipated 2008 proof-like Nelson Mandela 90th Birthday 5 Rand coin in a type set

2008-nelson-mandela-90th-birthday-proof-type-set

The South African Mint has quietly released the much anticipated 2008 proof-like Nelson Mandela 90th Birthday 5 Rand coin in a type set.

The type set contains two 5 Rand coins – the proof-like 2000 Mandela cupro-nickel 5 Rand as well as the “laser frosted” 2008 90th Birthday bi-metallic 5 Rand.
It’s not too clear why the 2000 Mandela 5 Rand was chosen to be included in this set, but it does seem as if the Mint has excess stock of this coin that they would like to get rid of.

“Laser frosted”

There appears to be no explanation for the use of this “laser frosted” terminology, but one can assume that the SA Mint is referring to the manufacturing process of the proof coin die whereby the details that are traditionally “frosted” by means of a sandblasting technique, are frosted with a laser. This technique is purported to achieve a higher quality finish. Another mint that utilises this laser process to manufacture their proof dies is the Australian Mint.

“Poor quality proof-like coins”

Although the coins in this type set have a proof-like finish, they have not been manufactured individually like most proof coins. Their minting process is similar to that of a circulation coins – and although they look nice at first sight, they have come into contact with other coins resulting in many scratches. I’m sure this will result in few high-grade versions as well as many disappointing “impaired proof” grades from NGC and the like.

Sources reveal that this coin type set is currently being offered to SA Mint Loyalty Club members where after it will be offered for sale to the general public. The price for the type set is R390 (USD39)

The SA Mint also claims to have limited the sale to one per customer, but their oantiquated rdering process has once again been called into question – as a quick search on local auction websites reveals that some sellers are offering up to 50 sets for sale as bulk lots.

Dissapointingly, most of these sets will land up in the hands of speculators.

This 2-coin set has a very low issue limit of 14,000.

“Second set will feature Silver and Gold Medallion”

It is also alleged that the SA Mint will also release an additional 90th Birthday 5 Rand set towards March. There is also no official press release on this set.
It is alleged that this set will contain a “laser frosted” 90th Birthday 5 Rand coin as well as a gold and silver bi-metal medallion featuring Mandela.

The pricing of this set is R5000 (USD500) and once again with an even lower issue limit of only 5,000.
It’s also alleged that the 90th Birthday 5 Rand in this set will be manufactured individually with a quality control check and as such will have a higher finish that the proof-like coin that is contained in the cheaper 2-coin type set.

It does seem as if this will be the only official offerings from the SA Mint regarding the 90th Birthday 5 Rand. From an investment point of view, these low issue numbers are a dream.

Once again the dates and pricing mentioned here are unconfirmed, calls to the SA Mint are unanswered and no information is available on their website.

[Thanks Rashid]

UPDATE 15 FEBRUARY 2009: Closer inspection of numerous type sets containing the proof-like Nelson Mandela 90th Birthday 5 Rand coin reveals their disappointing quality. Almost all that were examined were covered in fine, almost hair-like scratches as well as small nicks. There are also various rim nicks to be found. It does seem as if the coin was minted with a proof quality die, but this proof state is greatly reduced by the SA Mints’ minting process.

30 responses to “The South African Mint has quietly released the much anticipated 2008 proof-like Nelson Mandela 90th Birthday 5 Rand coin in a type set

  1. hi ! i need someone who buy 5 rand of Nelson Mandela’ 90 th birthday

  2. Safwaan Isaacs

    Hi i have a Nalson Mandela 90 th Birthday coin and i’m looking to grade it ,can you perhaps tell me where i can go.(address Plz)

  3. I have 8 madela coins how can sum1 buy them from me contact m on 0710416704

  4. Hi I nid sam1 who buy 5 rand of nelson mandela 90th birthday 2008…I got 6 coins
    Plzzz contact me 0727490405/0846623663

  5. I ask know,that how to sell Nelson Mandela 2008,coins

  6. Hi I got a R5 silver and gold mandela coin 2008 90that birhday.where can I sell it my contact number is 0785277121

    • I have 2008 Mandela R5 and i m searching how much I can get if anyone want to buy it call me on 0825397428 or 0825379428 we negotiate first because they say its worth half a million not sure.I was on google

    • Hi I have Mandela coins want to sell them please will you assist me where can I sell them my number is 0714987316 also on what’sapp

  7. I have many of R5 for Mandela 90th birthday and I am ready to sell it please contact on 072 606 0646

  8. i have 2008 nelson Mandela I’m selling it0627321306

  9. WHR r these coins sold I hv about 10?

  10. Please talk to me I wish to know about Mandela coins, I have two Mandela coins .

  11. Anybody who have an info where to sell them pls 0763293350

  12. I got 4 gold coins assist please

  13. I have lots of 2008 coin…..anyone who have an info……where to sell it?
    0603757468

  14. Hii i need someone to buy mandela head and 1994 parliament

  15. I’ve got two 1cent 1965 and 2 Mandela coins R5 long walk to freedom and 2008 90th birthday so how much is the value of each

  16. I hv more from 1999 1994 2008 where can I sell it plz tell me

  17. Hallow im Walter i have 5rand griqua 2015,mandela 2008,1994 contact 0729305499

  18. I have Mandela coin 2005 contact me 0794539379

Leave a comment